Things to do to keep myself occupied

December 9, 2011 § 2 Comments

Can’t go into details due to confidentiality laws, but as of this afternoon, I find myself lacking work in my day job (teaching at a residential treatment center) for the next 90 days or so.  No fault of my own, just a series of unfortunate events elsewhere.  I could apply for a transfer out of state, but that is unlikely, but again, I have a bit of free time that I’ve desperately wanted for several months now.

So…

Here are some tentative plans: 

  1. Read and review more of the Library of America editions I’m collecting.
  2. Write more commentary pieces, even if it means some people will disagree vociferously.
  3. Translate a short story from Spanish into English that to my knowledge has never been published in translation before.
  4. Write a few more critical analysis pieces.
  5. Review more books from non-Anglophone countries.
  6. Promote Squirrel Appreciation Day (January 21)
  7. Review the remaining novels by Umberto Eco that I have yet to review.

That, along with some recreational plans, should keep me active enough until I return to work.  Fear the squirrels’ minion, as he has hoarded many nu…err, books, that will be unleashed on the unsuspecting.

§ 2 Responses to Things to do to keep myself occupied

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Things to do to keep myself occupied at Vaguely Borgesian.

meta