More cover art to delight and fright you

January 19, 2012 § 4 Comments

Here are some books that I have bought or received over the past half-week. Some have excellent cover art, while others are trashy. Which ones do you like and which do you disdain?

The Persian edition of Sadegh Hedayat’s The Blind Owl and a bilingual Arabic/English edition of Adonis’ collection.

Two new books.  The first is an Edgar Rice Burroughs anthology and the other is Saladin Ahmed’s debut novel.

New Mark Hodder and a reprint by Tachyon of a 2009 de Lint novel.

Ben Marcus’ just released novel and a famous book by the 1951 Nobel Literature laureate.

Two French editions of Sartre and Molière.

There’s a couple of jokes can could be made here.  Make them.

ARC cover for the new Kress and a really crappy cover for Tolkien’s poem translations.

Very 70s to me.

Also a 70s cover, but uh…

Finally got my hands on a print edition of The Weird

Recognize the translator?

§ 4 Responses to More cover art to delight and fright you

  • Miguel says:

    The Blind Owl has a great cover. So does Ben Marcus' novel. Thanks for posting this.Are you familiar with the blog http://ajourneyroundmyskull.blogspot.com/I think you'd like it.

  • Larry says:

    You're welcome. And no, I hadn't heard of that blog, but yes, that site contains some lovely/weird images😀

  • Bibliotropic says:

    I've heard a lot of amazing things about Ahmed's "Throne of the Crescent Moon" lately, so much so that I really want to scrape the cash together to be able to buy it! It sounds like it'd be a really good read.And I admit to some envy over your copy of "The Weird." That one caught my eye when I first heard about it some months ago, and is another one that's on my wishlist.But wow, yeah, is that ever a crappy cover on the Tolkien!

  • Larry says:

    I'll be reviewing his book around the end of the month, but until then, I'll keep my opinions to myself (I've only read the first couple of chapters, as I have other works that have to be read and reviewed this week and next).As for The Weird, I got the copy because I was a contributor, but I also have it as an e-book, so I can already say with confidence that it's a great anthology despite my presence fouling things up! :PIf I have the chance, I might review the Tolkien, but it'll be a while.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More cover art to delight and fright you at Vaguely Borgesian.

meta

